Aryn’s Cult TV Blog
This is the world of TV through my eyes! Fancy that!

Merlin, Torchwood, Doctor Who – Oh BBC, I love you!

Merlin - NBCI’m officially stopping on Merlin. I tried, I really did, but the show just isn’t that great.

I’ve stepped back outside the misguided folklore and have swallowed the amounts of stuff that has been shoveled at me – hell, I even attempted to compare it to Legend of the Seeker (which it is not) but I keep coming to the same conclusion – it’s just not that good. 

I know that the Brits watch TV much different than we do. Their seasons are much, much shorter and there aren’t nearly as many stations to watch… but that just doesn’t change it for me. 

I’m sorry. I had hoped for more.

But every episode it pretty much the same. OH NO! SOMETHINGS WRONG! AND IT INVOLVES MAGIC

BUT MAGIC IS AGAINST THE LAW! and on and on and on… I’m done and moving on. Which is nice since Sunday has become inundated with shows (True Blood, Hung and Entourage <- I should blog about that one, huh? We’ll see.)

Torchwood BBC America

 

Torchwood is back tonight with the beginning of the long awaited mini-season entitled “Children of Earth.”

I’ve heard that this may be the end for Torchwood, but one can still hope for more!

I’ll probably have more starting Wednesday on this! I’m almost done with last season, which I would like to do before watching Children of Earth!

But incase I don’t make it – I promise to recap everything come Sunday!

 

 

 

doctor_who___david_tennant_by_jennicat5FINALLY! Planet of the Dead will air on BBC America this coming Sunday at 9:15pm!

A few weeks back they aired last years Christmas special and it was really good. David Morrissey guest starred as a man trapped in mid-1800 England who thinks that he is the Doctor. 

At first the Doctor, OUR Doctor, thinks he may have met a later incarnation of himself but comes to realize that the Cybermen have invaded the planet and when attempting to save his family “the next Doctor” accidently imprinted himself with the information about all the past 10 doctors and then assumed their life.

If you haven’t had a chance to watch it, well, that just makes me sad! GO TO BBC AMERICA RIGHT NOW!

And make sure to watch Planet of the Dead on Sunday! (or at least set your dvr for the love of god…) Now enjoy the trailer!

 

4 Responses to “Merlin, Torchwood, Doctor Who – Oh BBC, I love you!”

  1. Merlin is a strange beast. I’m enjoying it for what it is — “Smallville 500 AD,” as a friend of mine put it — but I can’t help but feel that it could do more than “Here’s a problem that magic created, that only magic can solve, that we have to hide the magic lest we all get our heads lopped off.” The first two episodes NBC showed were weak, the next two with Nimue were much better, and I enjoyed “Lancelot” a whole lot (even if the Griffin looked asstastic). I’m seeing potential, but for the show to reach that potential I think it needs more grime and grit.

    Torchwood: Children of Earth will blow your mind. You will either think it brilliant, or you will throw things at your television. And quite possibly for the exact same reason. I think that Torchwood has finally outgrown Doctor Who. And I doubt that David Tennant’s swansong can possibly top Torchwood‘s season finale. This is, by far, the best Doctor Who story of the year.

    • I completely agree about Merlin. I kept hoping and hoping for more but the scripts just keep falling short.

      I’m sooo excited for Torchwood – I just need to convince my 9 month old that we should watch that over Finding Nemo… again…

      Thanks for reading!

  2. That’s too bad about Merlin. It DOES get better, especially episode 10 and 11 (which are also the fandom’s/viewers favorite episodes as well (if you look at the ratings and comments). And I’m positive (from what I’ve seen) that season 2 is going to be much much better.

    • You know, I really DO hope it gets better. I was rather sad when it came across so overly redundant… I will try to hang on, mostly because you took the time to tell me to.

      And I mean that as a compliment.

      Here’s hoping I’m not the only one watching, because I’ll tell you now, I don’t see NBC renewing a show that is beat out by reruns – want to say – at least 3 weeks running…

      Thanks for reading!


Leave a Reply

