Aryn’s Cult TV Blog
This is the world of TV through my eyes! Fancy that!

So Say We All!

 

Battlestar Galactica

Battlestar Galactica

 

 

Back in 2004, if you would have told me that a small little cable network should would have been controlling my social life on Friday nights, I would have told you that you were crazy.  If you would have said that I would be an emotional mess, knowing that said show was days away from completion, I would have laughed in your face.

But here I am.  Spring of 2009.  My DVR set to record.  My friends and family, knowing that if they try to contact me on Friday between 9 – 11pm, it had better be an emergency because I will not be answering my phone.  The end is here and I need to know, because soon – my television friends will no longer be there for me on Friday nights.

When the Sci/fi network originally aired the 3 hour mini-series back in 2004, I have to admit, I didn’t watch it.  I didn’t know anything about Battlestar Galatica (or BSG for its fans) outside of it being a remake of the 1978 short lived show that boasted a character played by Dirk Benedict [better known as the Faceman in A-Team].  All I knew was that it was about robots, and I remembered this robot dog, but otherwise it was lost on me.

And then I saw the commercials and people started saying to me, “Aryn, you love science fiction, why aren’t you watching this show.” So I tuned in and my life changed forever.

I started in somewhere in the middle of the second season, so there were a lot of trips to Best Buy to find the mini-series, all of season one, the first half of season two and then I didn’t leave my house for a few days.  If I did it was because I had to work or someone wouldn’t deliver food to me – but otherwise the rest of the world stopped. 

The rollercoaster ride BSG took me on was and still is something I’ve never experienced before.  I’ve never shut the rest of my life down because I HAD to know about a television show, I HAD to know what Gaius Baltar was going to do next.  Would he tell them about Sharon?  Was Six really there or was there a chip in his head?  I had to know that Starbuck was going to figure it out and that, even though she was so self destructive she would just blow up.  I HAD to know that the President would be okay and that she would see Admiral Adama in the right light, that Lee would realize there was more and Tigh – oh Tigh and his hate.  His utterly blinding and crippling hate for what he was, unknowingly, going to find out he was all along.

This Friday all of my questions will be answered, I will finally know if the human race will survive, and I will know if this ride was worth it.  But how could it not be?

With the music booming in your ears and quick flashes of the final moments danced before your eyes, blood, sweat, tears and a whole lot of fraking swearing, I will be snug on my couch, tissues in hand.  Waiting for them to tell me it will all be okay – or that it won’t because humanity is cursed even in a different fraking world.

I love you BSG.  You will be missed.

 

Battlestar Galactica - BSG 75

Battlestar Galactica - BSG 75

No Responses to “So Say We All!”

Leave a Reply

